Faculty Awards (continued)

Cincinnati Children's celebrated outstanding faculty members on February 19. Congratulations to our honorees and to all who were nominated by their peers.

Service Achievement Award

Joshua Schaffzin, MD, PhD

Division of Infectious Diseases

Joshua Schaffzin, MD, PhD, is the director of Infection Control and Prevention at Cincinnati Children's and the epitome of an individual who has demonstrated outstanding collaboration and leadership at the institution. Since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, his contributions have been truly extraordinary and have had a significant impact.

In his more thatn 10 years of service, Schaffzin has been a hardworking, devoted collaborator with expertise in infection prevention, epidemiology, and improvement science. He is known for his straightforward approach to difficult problems.

As an active member of the COVID-19 Hospital Incident Command System, he helped develop and refine many new processes related to employee screening, clinical flow of patients, testing, supply chain for personal protective equipment and contact tracing of employees and patients.

Schaffzin's exemplary infection prevention knowledge, collaborative relationships throughout the region, dedication to patient and employee safety and heroic efforts related to COVID-19 at Cincinnati Children's are traits all physicians should aspire to.

Service Achievement Award

Hector Wong, MD

Division of Critical Care Medicine

Hector Wong, MD, who served as the interim chair of the Department of Pediatrics in 2020, is a true servant leader who values collaboration and fosters trust, which has led to a marked increase in morale and optimism among the faculty.

Amid the pandemic crisis, Wong consistently conveyed calm and confidence. He consistently demonstrated deep humility and exceptional trust and respect for his team and has led with empathy, understanding and encouragement.

Importantly, Wong has served as a powerful supporter of our under-represented minority faculty. He has advocated tirelessly for a faculty diversity, equity and inclusion strategic plan and strongly supported anti-racism efforts at Cincinnati Children's. He is a true co-conspirator who recognizes that choosing to remain silent is a form of privilege that doesn't lead to real change, and he has led the department in making a strong and clear statement that we are committed to identifying and rejecting any form of discrimination.

Wong is a remarkable leader. He has served as interim department chair with skill, selflessness and humility.

Past Faculty Awardees 2015-2020

Advocacy Achievement Award

2015: Sherine Patterson-Rose, MD, MPH; Uma Kotagal, MBBS, MSc

2016: Lori Crosby, PsyD

2017: Mary Greiner, MD; Charles Schubert, MD

2018: Ryan Moore, MD; Mary Staat, MD, MPH

2019: Ilka Riddle, PhD; Mia Mallory, MD, MEd 2020: Kara Ayers, PhD; Melissa Klein, MD, MEd; Carole Lannon, MD, MPH

2015: Christine White, MD, MAT; Stuart Goldstein, MD, Mona Mansour, MD, MS; Gregory Tiao, MD

2016: Patrick Brady, MD, MSc; Norbert Weidner, MD

2017: Erin Shaughnessy, MD; Frank Biro, MD; Michelle Lierl, MD

2018: Nicolas Madsen, MD, MPH; Angela Statile, MD, MEd;

Michael Gelfand, MD

2019: Maisam Abu-El-Haija, MD; Dan Benscoter, DO; Stephen Muething, MD 2020: Mary Carol Burkhardt, MD, MHA; Carolyn Kercsmar, MD

Clinical Care Achievement Award

Educational Achievement Award

2015: Gary Geis, MD; Corinne Lehmann, MD, MEd

2016: Sue Poynter Wong, MD, MEd; Christopher Peltier, MD

2017: Karen Jerardi, MD, MEd; Rashmi Hegde, PhD

2018: Daniel Schumacher, MD, MEd; Ndidi Unaka, MD, MEd; Constance McAneney, MD, MS

2019: F. Joseph Real, MD, MEd; Thomas DeWitt, MD 2020: Benjamin Kinnear, MD, MEd; Robert Wood, MD, PhD

Entrepreneurial Achievement Award

2015: Hector Wong, MD

2016: Randy Giaquinto; Kenneth Setchell, PhD; James Heubi, MD 2020: Stuart Goldstein, MD, FAAP, FNKF

Mentoring Achievement Award

2015: Simon Hogan, PhD; Susanne Wells, PhD

2016: Louis Muglia, MD, PhD

2017: Todd Florin, MD; John Clancy, MD; Alexander Vinks, PharmD, PhD

2018: Dominick DeBlasio, MD, MEd; Samir Shah, MD, MSCE

2019: Andrew Beck, MD, MPH; David Morales, MD 2020: Leah Kottyan, PhD; Lee (Ted) Denson, MD

Research Achievement Award

2015: Steve Danzer, PhD; Jeffrey Robbins, PhD

2016: Satoshi Namekawa, PhD; Marc Rothenberg, MD, PhD; James Wells, PhD

2017: Tesfaye Mersha, PhD; Sing Sing Way, MD, PhD

2018: Samantha Brugmann, PhD; Punam Malik, MD

2019: Matthew Weirauch, PhD; Gurjit Khurana Hershey, MD, PhD; Qing Richard Lu, PhD 2020: Theresa Alenghat, VMD, PhD; Kimberly Yolton, PhD

Service Achievement Award

2015: Melinda Butsch Kovacic, PhD, MPH; Richard Ittenbach, PhD; Gary Keller, DVM

2016: Yueh-Chiang Hu, PhD; Richard Ruddy, MD

2017: Michal Kouril, PhD; Edith Markoff, PhD

2018: Christopher Mayhew, PhD; Paul Samuels, MD

2019: Erika Stalets, MD; Jay Paul Willging, MD 2020: Jamilah Hackworth, EdD; J. Matthew Kofron, PhD

Team Award

2015: Steatohepatitis Center

2016: Brain Tumor Center

2017 Clinical Team Achievement Award:

Comprehensive Fertility Care and Preservation Program

2017 Research Team Achievement Award:

Center for Pulmonary Imaging Research

2018 Clinical Team Award: Inflammatory Bowel Disease Center

2018 Research Team Award: Learning Networks Team

2019 Clinical Team Award: Intestinal Rehabilitation Center

2019 Research Team Achievement Award:

The Gamble Program for Clinical Studies 2020 Clinical Care Team Award: Trauma Services Collaborative 2020 Research Team Award: Data Management and Coordinating Center Team for the Rare Diseases Clinical Research Network

Cincinnati Children’s Goes the Distance for Finley and Her Family